Online 34th University Consortium Executive Board Meeting

  The online 34th University Consortium Executive Board Meeting (UCEBM) was held on 16-17 December 2021, in the meeting room on the 10th floor of the Kasetsart Golden Jubilee Administration and Information Center Building, Kasetsart University. Associate Assistant Professor Dr. Kampanat Pensupar, Vice President for International Affairs; Professor Dr. Buncha Chinnasri, Assistant to the President for Quality Development; Miss Araya Bijaphala, Director of International Affairs Division; and personnel of International Affairs Division, attended the online 34th University Consortium Executive Board Meeting (UCEBM). Since its inception, every UC member has to attend the annual meeting of UCEBM every year. The host will be rotate among the UC members. Last year, Kasetsart University successfully hosted the 33rd UC Executive Board Meeting virtually. This year, Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM), Malaysia through its School of Graduate Studies (SGS) was chosen to be the host of the UCEBM with SEARCA likewise attended the meeting as Secretariat of the UC. The meeting was held online via Zoom Meeting on 16 and 17 December 2021.

  Kasetsart University is a member of the Southeast Asian University Consortium for Graduate Education in Agriculture and Natural Resources (UC) and the Southeast Asian Regional Center for Graduate Study and Research in Agriculture (SEARCA) based in the Philippines. The UC was established in 1989 to share resources and collaborate on student and faculty exchanges among leading agricultural universities.

  The consortium is anticipating the virtual attendance of representatives from its regular members, consists of Kasetsart University (KU), Institut Pertanian Bogor (IPB), Universitas Gadjah Mada (UGM), Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM), University of the Philippines Los Baños (UPLB), and Universitas Brawijaya (UB). Also invited to the board meeting are the two UC associate members, Tokyo University of Agriculture (Tokyo NODAI) and National Taiwan University (NTU), and its affiliate members University of British Columbia (UBC) of Canada, and three Southeast Asian universities which are UC. Maejo University in Chiang Mai, Thailand and Visayas State University and Central Luzon State University, both from the Philippines.

  The 34th UC Executive Board Meeting on the first day of 16 December 2022 was the opening ceremony and Welcoming Message from Prof. Dr. Mohd Roslan Sulaiman, the Vice Chancellor, Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM), followed by Opening Remarks from Dr. Glenn B. Gregorio, SEARCA Director and Dr. Maria Cristeta N. Cuaresma as UC Coordinator. Then there was an introduction of University/Institute Representatives respectively for 15 minutes each. A total of 60 people attended this meeting. This meeting is a platform for the presentation of the UC annual report, financial report includes proposing and approving new proposals for academic activities or partnerships that benefit UC, including building new partnerships with institutions/agency/organizations from relevant countries, offers competitive student and faculty grants and activities hosted by the different member institutions, which are regularly reviewed during the board meeting. The UC also discusses ongoing dual or joint degrees as well as proposed collaborative research studies among the members and institutional partners outside Southeast Asia. The UC also conducts the following activities annually: UC Summer School, UC Graduate Forum, UC Faculty Forum, 2022 UC Executive Board Meeting and 2022 UC Activities and Budget.

  Lastly, Maejo University, Chiang Mai, Thailand will be the host of UC Graduate Student Forum 2022; Central Luzon State University, Philippines will be the host of UC Faculty Forum 2022; the 35th UC Executive Board Meeting shall be led by Universitas Brawijaya (UB), Indonesia in 2022 and will be the host of UC Summer School 2022 as well.